Week 4 of FMP

What week:

12/03/18

What did I do this week?

This week, on the Monday we auditioned the actors and wrote down who we wanted. We also did a camera workshop can carried on writing the script.

Were there any problems faced?

A problem that we faced was when we auditioned the actors. We weren’t that confident in how to audition, and looking back we could’ve been a bit more organised and explained our script a bit better. Also, with us knowing we needed to make changes to our script, it wasn’t that useful to have them audition with that script.

Did I learn anything new?

Doing the auditions made me realise how different actors in theatre than film. They’re much more loud and expressive, as their crowd are usually far away. However, we realised that they might need some more direction than we thought to make them ready to go in front of camera. I also learnt about script writing with others. It is so much easier and reassuring  when you have other people to read the script with and bounce ideas back and forth.

What did I improve on?

I think my confidence improved as I was very nervous about auditioning the actors as I felt quite hypocritical as they were the actors. Also, we should’ve come more prepared, perhaps with a character description so the actors understood the role more.

What could I improve on?

For our first rehearsals, I want to try and think about directing and what I can do to help the actors really get into their role and learn their lines. We also need to make sure they understand the script so they know how to portray the story and characters.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑