Skills and Progression Plan (750 Words)

There are a few jobs that I wouldn’t mind having, however, the main job role I would want would be an editor, most likely in feature films. I am a person who much prefers hands-on experience, so wouldn’t want to take the university route like some would. I would prefer to work up through the roles, such as a runner or an assistant, and learn the skills I’d need by actually doing things and being in the atmosphere of a film set. Like most editors, I would probably want to be freelance, although I would work on a contract if offered, as it can provide more stability.

There are many skills that make the difference between just an editor and a successful editor, most of which I think I could develop over time through experience and training. In terms of actually creating the first skill that an editor should have developed is the ability to work well under pressure – but also work well and efficiently under pressure. The biggest negative, in my opinion, of being an editor is the deadline and limited time to do tasks, so being able to work and still be creative under this pressure is very important to the job. To go along with creativity would also be having a strong imagination and understanding of a narrative, to make sure every scene makes sense with the storyline. Another skill developed through experience is also a good knowledge and understanding of tension and effective paces of storytelling. Of course this cannot be learnt just in a course, but by making projects and practising editing using different methods to create the end product. In terms of being a professional individual, an important skill would be to able to lead a team, to lead first and second assistants, trainees etc. Also, along with this, excellent communication skills would be needed, mainly for understanding and relaying the information the director needs them to know whilst editing. Another skill you’d need would be to have patience and have good attention to detail and be able to notice things such as continuity errors. Other information that would need to be learnt over experience would be the ability to use various software to save time as you’d understand how to use different editing platforms no matter where you’re editing.

My first step to progress in the industry would be to stay in college to finish my course, which will end in the summer of 2019. Although some people would say the industry would teach me more, it would be very difficult to get placements with little experience or knowledge, especially at such a young age. Also, I think that college will be very important as it will help me develop skills that I may not get just through work experience. For example, if I went into an editing apprenticeship I wouldn’t be able to experience much of the camerawork side, and college could make me realise what role I may want to do based on how much I enjoy it by getting hands on experience. Although I would want to continue in education that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t want to work at all. If possible I would want to look work experience in the industry, which will benefit me in college as well as helping me in the future. Getting paid would be a lot more convenient as it could allow me to travel further etc, but at this level I would take any experience I can.

After college, I think doing a traineeship would benefit me the most as I learn most when being guided, but still having independence to do things myself. Many places offer traineeships, such as big companies like the BBC. I’ve researched the BBC traineeships and they seem to be very good in terms of learning, and the companies can even pay for things like accommodation and travel expenses. If I didn’t do a traineeship or couldn’t get onto one I think I’d try to follow the apprenticeship route, as it is quite similar, but may not be as ‘professional’ as the traineeships may be. Apprenticeships and traineeships usually last a year, more or less, so I think this would be a good goal to strive for as it is a long time to develop, in a controlled environment, without being limited like I could be in education.

After a traineeship I’d want to go straight into the workplace, so that my knowledge wouldn’t be forgotten and I’d be fresh from a learning environment. I would try and get an entry level job, such as a runner, but if I possible I’d try and work more specifically in editing, for example, a second assistant editor. Hopefully the previous experience I would’ve gotten would help me move up the ranks even quicker. From this I’d like to develop my skills more and more whilst working on various projects do build an impressive portfolio that would make employers want me to work with them, as I’d hopefully be freelance. Working my way up to second assistant, then first etc would be the way I’d like to go.

In my opinion, working from the bottom upwards would be the best option for me, as I would learn all my skills in the work place, not a classroom. Although I know that this works for some, I don’t think it would work with me and my way of learning. I don’t think there is a better option, but there is a more suitable option for a certain person and how they develop quicker.

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑